Return to the AWM Home Page

2nd Louise Hay Award

Citation for Olga Beaver

Olga Beaver

In August of 1990, the AWM Executive Committee passed a resolution establishing the Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education and stating that "while Louise Hay was widely known for her contributions to mathematical logic and her strong leadership as Head of the Department of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science, her devotion to students and her lifelong commitment to nurturing the talent of young women and men secure her reputation as the consummate educator. The annual presentation of this award is intended to highlight the importance of mathematics education and evoke the memory of all that Ray exemplified as a teacher, scholar, administrator and human being."

The 1992 Award was presented to Olga Beaver, Associate Professor and Director of the Summer Science Program at Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts.

Dr. Beaver received her B.A. and M.S. degrees from the University of Missouri in 1968 and 1969, respectively. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Massachusetts in 1979. She has been at Williams College since then. She is also a Williams College Gaudino Scholar.

In her role as Director and driving force of the Williams College Summer Science Program, Professor Beaver has been able to promote positive role models, both by her example and by integration of student mentors into her pro gram. She has been noted not only for her excellence in teaching, but for her ability to bring about an "extraordinary change in spirit, not only of the minority students…but also to other non-SSP [Summer Science Program] students."

The Award Committee consisted of Sylvia Bozeman, Spelman College; Rhonda Hughes, Bryn Mawr College; and Mary Ellen Rudin (Chair), University of Wisconsin.

Click here to learn more about the Louise Hay Award.

Copyright ©2005 Association for Women in Mathematics. All rights reserved.